

MOTOROLA SOLUTIONS FOUNDATION EXCELLENCE IN PUBLIC SERVICE AWARD

presented and administered by the Civic Federation

AWARD HISTORY AND PAST HONOREES

In 1990 executives at Motorola recognized the need to identify and promote the exemplary work of public servants throughout the State of Illinois. Motorola had previously worked with the Illinois business community to support the achievements and hard work of non-elected government officials.

Sponsored by the Motorola Solutions Foundation in partnership with the Civic Federation, the Excellence in Public Service Award annually recognizes a non-elected government official who has had an extraordinary impact on the quality of state and local government services in Illinois. The award seeks to honor individuals who show dedication to a vision of quality management, leadership and innovation that leads to lasting achievements and more effective government in Illinois.

2023	
------	--

Lanetta Haynes Turner
Chief of Staff
Office of Cook County Board

President Toni Preckwinkle

2020

Ngozi Ezike, M.D.

Director

Illinois Department of

Public Health

2018

<u>Jamie Rhee</u>

Commissioner

Chicago Department of

Aviation

2022

Annette Nance-Holt

Commissioner

Chicago Fire Department

2020

Allison Arwady, M.D.

Commissioner

Chicago Department of

Public Health

2017

Arnold Randall

General Superintendent
Forest Preserve District of

Cook County

2021

Grace B. Hou

Secretary

Illinois Department of

Human Services

2019

Dorval R. Carter Jr.

President

Chicago Transit Authority

2016

Karin M. Norington-Reaves

CEO

Chicago Cook Workforce

Partnership

2015

Karen Tamley

Commissioner
Chicago Mayor's Off

Chicago Mayor's Office for People with Disabilities

2012

<u>Julie Hamos</u>

Director

Illinois Department of Healthcare and Family Services

2009

Judy Erwin
Executive Director
Illinois Board of
Higher Education

2006

Lori Healey

Commissioner

Chicago Department of

Planning and Development

2003

James Joyce

Commissioner

Chicago Fire Department

2000

Mary Dempsey
Commissioner
Chicago Public Library

1998

Paul Vallas
CEO
Chicago Public Schools

2014

Rocco Claps

Director
Illinois Department of
Human Rights

2011

Margaret C. Daley
Former First Lady
City of Chicago (recognized as
Chicago Public Schools CEO)

2008

Arne Duncan *CEO*

Chicago Public Schools

2005

Shirley Madigan Chair Illinois Arts Council

2002

Pam McDonough

Director

Illinois Department of

Commerce and Community

Affairs

2000

Audrey McCrimon Assistant to Secretary Illinois Department of Human Services

1997

Jess McDonald

Director

Illinois Department of
Children and Family Services

2013

Rosemarie S. Andolino

Commissioner
Chicago Department of
Aviation

2010

James R. Reilly *Trustee*Metropolitan Pier and
Exposition Authority

2007

Ron Huberman President Chicago Transit Authority

2004

Terry Peterson *CEO*Chicago Housing Authority

2001

William Holland Auditor General State of Illinois

1999

Lois Weisberg

Commissioner

Chicago Department of

Cultural Affairs

1996

Richard Wagner Executive Director Illinois Board of Higher Education

1995

Robert P. Belcaster *President* Chicago Transit Authority

1994

Ruth Rothstein

Director

Cook County Hospital

1993

Mary Decker Laraia Chief Cook County Capital Planning and Policy

1992

Sister Sheila Lyne *Commissioner* Chicago Department of Public Health