The Civic Federation

177 North State Street, Suite 400, Chicago, IL 60601 • 312.201.9066 fax 312.201.9041 • civicfed.org

January 13, 2011

The Honorable Pat Quinn Governor of Illinois 207 Statehouse Springfield, IL 62706

Re: Senate Bill 3778

Dear Governor Quinn:

The Civic Federation urges you to sign Senate Bill 3778, a bill that will end the Seniors Ride Free program. This program has strained the resources of public transit agencies while allowing seniors who can afford to pay their fair share the ability to ride for free. SB3778 will limit free rides to low income seniors.

The Chicago Transit Authority projects a total of 51 million free rides for seniors in FY2011, up from 49.8 million the previous fiscal year. In a study commissioned by the Regional Transportation Authority, the annualized loss from the Seniors Ride Free program across the three service boards was projected to be between \$25.1 million and \$76.3 million for 2009. The same study projects that the senior population for the Chicago region will double between 2000 and 2030, thereby increasing the annual revenue losses for the program to range between \$58.8 million and \$172.7 million, assuming no increase in fares, by 2030.

There is no sound public policy reason to provide free rides for affluent seniors who are able to pay and help defray the cost of public transit. Exempting such a large pool of individuals from paying their fair share of expenses simply shifts the cost onto other riders, many of whom are low-income workers. The program has contributed to the CTA's multi-million dollar deficit and led to the need for higher fares for all. A far more rational approach to address equity concerns is to provide reduced fares only for low-income riders. In that way, assistance is targeted to those individuals who truly need it.

The Civic Federation recommends that you sign SB3778 into law. Allowing the free rides program to continue without question places an unfair burden on the majority of transit riders to subsidize free rides for others who could afford to pay their fair share.

Sincerely,

Laurence Msall President



Officers

Thomas Livingston Chairman Mark Davis Vice Chairman Susan McKeever Vice Chairman Eileen Mitchell Vice Chairman Joseph B. Starshak Treasurer Laurence J. Msall President Lise Valentine Vice President *Executive Committee Past Chairmen's Council

Board of Directors Steven H. Abbey

Catherine M. Adduci Allan Ambrose* A.G. Anglum* Adrienne Archia*

David A. Abel

Murray E. Ascher* Alicia Berg Abel E. Berland 🔅 Brian A. Bernardoni Roger Bickel J.D. Bindenagel Aileen Blake Douglas H. Cameron Whitney Carlisle Timothy L. Christen Robert J. Christie Richard A. Ciccarone* Jerry Cizek III Nancy J. Clawson Lew Collens Elizabeth G. Coolidge Mary Culler Omar Daghestani Kevork M. Derderian 🖄 Julian C. D'Esposito Ion B DeVries Thomas H. Donohoe Martin L. Eisenberg Brian D. Fabes Timothy J. Faerber Timothy Fair Stephen B. Friedman Charles R. Gardner* Carol W. Garnant 🌣 Sarah Garvey* Anthony Gedeller Ronald J. Gidwitz Peter G. Glick Judith A. Gold* Andrew F. Gottschalk* Patrick J. Hagan* Philip Hale M. Hill Hammock* Albert C. Hanna Patricia M Holden Bruce T. Hopple Margaret Houlihan Smith Lorna Brett Howard James H. Kane William Ketchum Jim Kranjc* Betsy LaVelle Stephen Legatzke Michael A. Lovett William Mack* Glenn Mazade Thomas McNulty Fred H. Montgomery* Timothy E. Moran Monica M. Mueller Michael E. Murphy 🌣 Bert Nuehring* Michael F. O'Brien Holly O'Connor Gregory O'Leary Sarah Pang Robert Pasin Dorice Pepin Donovan Pepper Bruce V. Rauner Alexander I. Rorke Scott Saef ☆ John C. Sciaccotta James E. Spiotto* Caryn Stancik Barbara Stewart 🌣 Eugene S. Sunshine Theodore M. Swain* Kent A. Swanson* Courtney A. Thompson Thomas C. Vanden Berk Robert S. Vihon* Daniel Wagner Sue E. Wallace* John F. Ward Jeffrey D. Warner Andrew L. Weil Jerrold Wolf William Young Philip Zinn*