

Steven H. Abbey

David A. Abel

The Civic Federation

177 North State Street, Suite 400, Chicago, IL 60601 • 312.201.9066 fax 312.201.9041 • www.civicfed.org

Officers Thomas McNulty, Chairman A.G. Anglum, Vice Chairman Mark Davis, Vice Chairman Thomas Livingston, Vice Chairman Joseph B. Starshak, Treasurer Laurence J. Msall, President Lise Valentine, Vice President

<u>Civic Federation Position Statement on School Vouchers</u> June 17, 2010

The Civic Federation supports the use of vouchers to provide students in low-performing public schools with the opportunity to attend private schools. We view charter schools and a voucher system as important initiatives for public education because they provide school choice for parents and students and bring innovation to the state's education system.

The Civic Federation believes that a voucher system would be an affordable way to improve the educational opportunities for students who would otherwise attend failing public schools. Senator James Meeks' proposal to introduce a voucher system in the lowest-performing Chicago Public Schools would be a logical way to test vouchers in the State of Illinois in an effort to drive change in the public school system.

The Civic Federation supports a voucher program that would be revenue neutral or provide savings to taxpayers, would be limited to the lowest-performing public schools during an initial trial period, and would be subject to a detailed review and evaluation within five years of implementation.

Catherine Adduci Allan Ambrose* Adrienne Archia* Murray E. Ascher* Alicia Mazur Berg Abel E. Berland Brian Bernardoni Roger Bickel J.D. Bindenagel Aileen Blake Douglas H. Cameron Whitney Carlisle Robert J. Christie Richard A. Ciccarone* Jerry Cizek 🖄 Nancy J. Clawson Elizabeth G. Coolidge Amy Anderson Day Kevork Derderian 🌣 Julian C. D'Esposito Jon B. DeVries Thomas H. Donohoe Martin L. Eisenberg Brian D. Fabes Timothy J. Faerber Timothy Fair Stephen Friedman Charles R. Gardner* Carol W. Garnant 🜣 Sarah Garvev^{*} Anthony Gedeller Ronald J. Gidwitz Peter G. Glick Judith A. Gold* Andrew F. Gottschalk* Patrick Hagan* Philip Hale M. Hill Hammock Albert C. Hanna Patricia M. Holden Bruce T. Hopple Margaret Houlihan Smith Lorna Brett Howard James H. Kane William Ketchum James Kranjc* Stephen Legatzke Michael A. Lovett William Mack* Glenn Mazade Susan McKeever* Eileen Mitchell* Fred Montgomery* Timothy E. Moran Monica M. Mueller Michael E. Murphy 🌣 Bert Nuehring* Michael F. O'Brien Holly O'Connor Gregory O'Leary Robert Pasin Dorice Pepin Donovan Pepper Bruce Rauner Alexander I. Rorke Scott Saef 🌣 John Sciaccotta James E. Spiotto* Carvn Stancik Barbara Stewart 🔅 Eugene S. Sunshine Theodore M. Swain* Kent A. Swanson Courtney Thompson Thomas Vanden Berk Robert Vihon* Sue E. Wallace* John F. Ward Jeffrey D. Warner Andrew Weil Jerrold Wolf Philip Zinn* *Executive Committee A Past Chairmen's Council